How can we help you today?

Multi-user management


Enable others to make direct changes on your personas, journey maps and stakeholder maps by inviting them as a user to your account. 

You can manage who has access to which project and even invite external stakeholders or your client to your project.



Multi-user management


Every user in Smaply belongs to one or more organizations. If multiple users are allowed to access an organization/project, each  can make changes on different journey maps and personas.


You can:

1) Invite new users to see all the contents of the organization

2) Assign users to single projects



1) Inviting new users to the organization


To invite new users, navigate to your account settings and then go to "users in organization" on the left hand side.


After you registered for your Smaply account, there is only you in the organization.  To add new users to your organization please follow the steps below. Please note that you need to have Admin rights for the organization to be able to do this:

  • Click on your username on the top-right to get to the user-settings menu.
  • Click "Users in this organization".
  • Enter email address and first name of the user you want to invite


The user will receive an email with a confirmation link. By clicking the link they'll be able to set their password and then have access to your organization depending on the role you gave them.




2) Assigning users to projects


You can assign and unassign users to a project as soon as they have confirmed your invitation.


To add users to projects please follow the steps below. Please note, that they first need to be added to your organization before you can assign them to projects. Users with the role "Manager" and "Admin" will always see all projects, no matter if they are assigned or not.


Go to the project overview of the project you want to assign users to.


1. In the right sidebar you see an area "Assigned users"

2. Click the "Add users to this project" button to select and assign the desired user. Please note that by assigning them they will have access to all personas, journey maps and stakeholder maps within this project.





User roles


There are three user roles with different rights. Members can only work in projects they are assigned to. Managers can see all projects, create new ones and assign exisiting users to projects. The admin is the only one who can invite new users to an organization and handle everything related to the billing of an organization.


Also, if you have two projects at the same time, you e.g. assign 3 users to project A and 3 users to project B so they can only see the projects they have rights for.


To give admin rights to another or a second person, please get in touch with us, we're happy to get this done for you.



Smaply user roles



Changing/reassigning users over time


The account admin can delete and assign new users anytime directly in the account settings. I.e., once you deleted a user, you can invite a new one.

Depending on the default number of users, according to your monthly billed plan (e.g. 3 users for Regular), you can also invite additional users. Those additional users will automatically be billed with your next invoice. For the cost of user add-ons, please check our pricing page. If your account runs on an annually billed plan, please get in touch with us and we'll be happy to do this for you. 


Re-assign user licenses:

If you don't want to exceed the default user number, you have to unassign one user from your account first and then invite a new one. That does not affect any of your contents. 


Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.